## STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION INTER-OFFICE MEMORANDUM

TO: DISTRIBUTION

FROM: Beverly E. Najarian

Director, Department of Administration

DATE: September 27, 2006

RE: Separation of Powers

**Training Materials** 

As you are aware, several amendments to the Rhode Island Constitution were approved by the electorate in November 2004. One of these amendments, contained in Article IX, Section 5, referred to the Governor's authority to appoint members of boards and commissions that exercise executive power.

In order to implement this constitutional amendment, ten (10) bills were enacted in 2005 that required the reorganization of twelve (12) boards, commissions, agencies, and authorities. These Separation of Powers enactments are contained in Rhode Island General Laws Sections 16-62-7; 24-15-10; 29-8-4; 42-24-1; 42-45-2; 42-64-8; 42-113-4; 42-133-6; 44-34-11;45-9-3;46-12.2-3; and 46-12.9-8. The names of the boards, commissions, agencies, authorities and entities that are affected by the 2005 enactments are contained in attached Appendix A.

Enacted in the 2006 Legislative Session were twenty (20) bills that required the reorganization of thirty four (34) boards, commissions, agencies, and authorities. These Separation of Powers enactments, many of which are duplicates, are contained in the following Chapters of the 2006 Public Laws: Chapters 14,18, 22, 23, 26, 27, 28, 52, 53, 54, 70, 103, 104, 144, 319, 332, 408, 435, 444, and 502. The names of the boards, commissions, agencies, authorities and entities that are affected by the 2006 enactments are contained in attached Appendix B. According to our records, you are the chairperson, head or contact person for one or more of the forty six (47) entities listed in Appendices A and B.

The 2005 and 2006 enactments require that newly appointed members of the above entities receive instruction in the following areas: Code of Ethics (Chapter 36-14 of the R.I. General Laws); the Access to Public Records Act (Chapter 38-2 of the R.I. General Laws); and the Open Meetings Act (Chapter 42-46 of the R.I. General Laws).

Furthermore, the enactments require that the department of administration distribute training materials, which relate to the provisions of the above chapters, to many of the entities named in the enactments.

When department staff began to prepare training materials in the three subject areas, it was apparent that considerable background material and many resource documents were already available. The Office of the Attorney General and the Rhode Island Ethics Commission had previously been prepared documents and materials in these areas that were well written, well researched, and are electronically available at these agencies' websites. Because these documents had been prepared by the agencies that are responsible for the enforcement of these laws, the department of administration has decided to provide the named entities with on-line access links to those documents and materials.

Those materials, together with on-line access links, are described in attached Appendix C. The materials are arranged sequentially by references to the Rhode Island General Laws. For each subject area, the materials begin with an access link to the applicable Title and Chapter of the Rhode Island General Laws. Until this department prepares and disseminates additional training materials, we suggest that these materials are distributed to newly appointed members of commissions, boards, and other authorities pursuant to the 2005 and 2006 enactments. Moreover, these materials should be made available as a resource to all members and staff of the affected entities.

If you have any questions regarding this memo or any of the Appendices, please contact Deputy Chief Legal Counsel Peter Dennehy at 222-3417. In the event that you are not the contact person to whom these materials should be sent, please contact Peter Dennehy.

Appendices (3)

## DISTRIBUTION:

Barbara Petrarca - Scenic Roadways Board

Edward F. Sanderson – RI Historical Preservation and Heritage Comm.

Anthony Simeone- RI Clean Water Finance Agency

Terrance Gray- RI Underground Storage Tank Review Board

Saul Kaplan-RI Economic Development Corporation

Noreen Shawcross-RI Housing and Conservation Board

William Catelli – RI Vehicle Value Commission

Tracy Williams- RI Information Resources Management Board

Rosemary Booth Gallogly-Tobacco Settlement Financing Corporation

Noel Simpson–RI Student Loan Authority

John O'Connor, Director of Legislative Council - Commission on Uniform State Laws

Donna Dickerman – Interpreters for the Deaf

Beth Perry – Library Board

George Farrell – Fire Education and Training Coordinating Board

Jametta Alston – Child Advocate

John DiTomasso – Motor Vehicle Inspection Commission

Bob Fish – RI Public Telecommunications Authority

Kevin Flynn – State Comprehensive Plan Appeals Board

Kenneth Ayers – State Conservation Committee; Agricultural Lands Preservation

Commission

Wendy Hoyle – RI Farm, Forest & Open Space Land Value Subcommittee

Christopher Hannafin – Rabies Control Board

Helen Drew -- Mosquito Abatement Board; State Medical Examiners Commission; and

Health Professional Loan Repayment Program

George Johnson – State Greenways Council

Kevin Nelson – Rhode Island Rivers Council

Alicia Pomfret – Industrial Recreational Building Authority

Sherry Mulhearn – RI Resource Recovery Corporation

Jack Wagner – Board of Governors for Higher Education

Peter McWalters – Board of Regents for Elementary and Secondary Education

Dennis Hilliard – State Crime Laboratory Commission

Warren Ducharme – State Building Code Standards Committee

Bob Rochio – State Traffic Commission

Al Moscola – RI Public Transit Authority

Juan Mariscal – Water Resources Board

General Treasurer Paul Tavares – Sinking Fund Commission; Refunding Bond Authority;

State Investment Commission; and Public Finance Management Board

Frank Karpinski – State Retirement Board

Michael Marques – Board of Bank Incorporation

William Hurry – Higher Education Assistance Authority

Jerome Williams – State Properties Commission